智齒該不該拔?周圍牙齦發炎腫痛怎麼辦?

​和口腔外科專科 賴俊臣醫師的對話

智齒(第三大臼齒)是我們口腔裡會最後長出的牙齒,通常在17~25歲之間萌發,因此稱之為智齒。當智齒無法完整的長出牙肉外便稱之為埋伏智齒。根據統計,90%的民眾至少有一顆埋伏智齒,多數為水平智齒。建議民眾應儘早尋求口腔外科專科醫師評估智齒是否建議拔除。

什麼時候該拔智齒呢?

埋伏智齒若不拔除很可能會產生許多後遺症,因此牙醫師通常會建議儘早拔除。研究顯示埋伏智齒建議最好是在18~24歲之間拔除,因為這個年齡的患者群拔牙後復原的速度最快也最好。若您有下顎疼痛、長智齒處牙齦疼痛、腫脹、發炎、或流血等症狀,建議儘速尋求鄰近的牙醫診所進行診斷並評估是否可進行緊急處理來止痛和緩解並安排後續療程。有些埋伏智齒不會有任何症狀但不表示不會出問題,因此最好的做法是定期由牙醫師為您追蹤檢查您的智齒狀況,若需拔除儘早安排處理,並在拔完智齒後進行術後追蹤。

埋伏智齒不拔會怎麼樣?

埋伏智齒不應該忽略不理。即便您的口腔衛生和潔牙習慣良好,但智齒所在的位置很難刷乾淨,極容易蛀牙,而且大多數的智齒多少會有不同程度埋伏的問題,所以建議您依然得定期尋求牙醫師評估智齒是否該拔。埋伏智齒若留著不管,有可能會傷害鄰接的臼齒進而產生感染,造成牙周病和齒槽骨破壞。感染後的細菌有可能會進入血液產生系統性感染,例如蜂窩性組織炎,進而影響心臟,腎臟等重要器官等後遺症。有時候智齒周圍也有可能會出現囊腫或腫瘤,導致周圍的神經或牙齒受到影響。 對於大部分的民眾而言,拔智齒是時間問題,而不是要不要的問題。

拔智齒為何推薦口腔外科專科醫師呢?

在所有牙醫師裡,拔智齒是口腔外科專科醫師的專業。口腔外科專科醫師的訓練是經過牙醫學院畢業後,再投入多年時間在教學醫院擔任住院醫師或研究生接受更進階紮實的手術訓練。也因此,他/她們對於有特殊病史及用藥的患者更能夠提供最完善的治療。一般牙醫師如遇到太困難拔除的埋伏智齒也會轉診給口腔外科醫師處理。

資訊來源:衛生福利部,中華民國口腔顎面外科學會,美國口腔顎面外科醫師協會

 

賴俊臣 醫師

成功大學口腔顎面外科

口腔顎面外科 專科

​智齒拔除

  • google_maps_pin-512
  • Facebook
  • line
wisdom_tooth_longwood_dental_taipei_dazh

Do I Need a Wisdom Tooth Extraction?

A Conversation with Oral Maxillofacial Surgeon Dr. C.C. Lai

Wisdom teeth (third molars) are the last teeth to develop and appear in your mouth.  They come in between the ages of 17~25, a time of life that has been called the "Age of Wisdom."  When a Wisdom tooth is unable to break through the gums properly, it is said to be “impacted.”  According to American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 90% of people have at least one impacted wisdom tooth.  Doctors strongly recommend that wisdom teeth be evaluated by an Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon (OMS).

When Should I Extract my Wisdom Tooth?

Impacted wisdom teeth have many side effects and it is recommended that patients have them removed sooner than later.  Research has demonstrated that wisdom teeth should ideally be removed between the ages of 18~24 years as patients in this age group typically experience the fastest recovery than older patients. If you experience symptoms such as jaw pain, gum tenderness, swelling, bleeding around your rear jaw area, you should seek dental attention immediately.  In some cases a problematic impacted tooth may be asymptomatic, so it is always best to have your dentist periodically monitor the conditions of your wisdom teeth.

What if I don't do Anything?

The worst thing to do is ignore your wisdom teeth.  Even if you practice excellent oral hygiene, it is still important for a dentist to examine your wisdom teeth and determine if it’s time to have them removed.  Rarely do all wisdom teeth erupt fully into the mouth without issue.  Their placement location makes it challenging for patients to maintain proper health of the teeth and gum.  If left in the mouth, impacted wisdom teeth may damage neighboring teeth, become infected, and possibly lead to gum disease and bone loss.  Oral bacteria may travel to your bloodstream, where it may lead to systemic infections that affect the heart, kidneys and other organs.  In some cases, a cyst or tumor can form around the base of the impacted tooth, which can damage surrounding nerves, teeth and other parts of your mouth and face.  For most patients, wisdom tooth extraction is a matter of “when” and not “if.” 

Can any Dentist Extract my Wisdom Tooth?

An Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon (OMFS) specializes in removing impacted wisdom teeth and much more.  After dental school, OMFS pursues extensive years of advanced education in hospital-based surgical residency programs.  While most dentists can perform tooth extractions, patients with impacted wisdom teeth are advised to seek an OMFS for surgical tooth removal.  Additionally, patients with certain medications or health issues may necessitate a referral to an OMFS.  When a dentist refers patients to an OMFS for tooth extraction, it is to ensure the tooth is removed or managed with the highest level of expertise

Information Source: American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons

 

Dr. Chun-Chen Lai

OMFS, NCKU

Oral Maxillofacial Surgery
Wisdom Tooth Extraction

  • google_maps_pin-512
  • Facebook
  • line
wisdom_tooth_longwood_dental_taipei_dazh