冷光牙齒美白,最快又安全的告別黃牙

​和美容牙科 王雅瑩醫師的對話

冷光牙齒美白是最快又有效提升口腔美觀和個人魅力的療程。許多研究顯示,微笑是最能在潛意識下影響第一印象的視覺因素。潔白的笑容會帶給人年輕健康和快樂有活力的印象。根據AACD美國美容牙醫學會對1,000多位成年人的研究,超過90%最希望優先改善的口腔問題就是牙齒的潔白度。若您對自己的笑容不滿意,可以選擇先嘗試牙齒美白。

為什麼我的牙齒不白?為什麼會變黃染色?

乳牙一般而言會比恆齒(成人齒)白皙,這也是為什麼潔白的牙齒會讓人覺得年輕。隨著年齡增加,恆齒也會隨生活習慣漸漸變暗變黃。雖然牙齒變色的原因很多,比如遺傳、抗生素使用、生活飲食習慣、年齡等等,但最常見的因素還是菸酒和習慣食用含丹寧的食物例如咖啡、茶、和深色蔬果。

牙齒美白的好處

牙齒美白是牙科患者們最常見的訴求。擁有潔白牙齒的人會比較願意開懷的笑,也會對自己的外表更有信心。牙醫師能為患者帶來健康自然又潔白的牙齒,提升整體臉部美觀。牙齒美白是個簡單又安全的美容牙科療程,能讓您看起來更年輕有朝氣。若想多了解牙齒美白是否適合自己,推薦尋求美容牙科醫師的診斷評估。

牙齒美白的種類

牙齒美白最常見的兩種方式就是由牙醫師在診所進行的美白療程和市售DIY居家美白產品。市售DIY美白產品的優點是方便購買又可隨時在家中進行。但因美白藥劑屬衛福部管制藥品,DIY美白產品藥劑濃度受家用安全限制,美白效果很有限,必須長期使用後才會稍有成效。相較之下由牙醫師在診所進行的美白,效果會更顯著且更加安全。比起DIY美白產品,醫用美白藥劑較能避免敏感性和減少不必要的化學接觸。您的醫師會與您討論您的美白訴求並推薦適合您的治療計劃。

診所美白療程

在診所內由牙醫師進行的美白療程會是所有選擇中效果最明顯和最安全的,因為醫用美白藥劑濃度高於非醫用和市售DIY美白產品,而且是經由醫療人員執行。醫用美白藥劑濃度雖然較高,但牙齒以外的部位,包括牙齦、嘴唇,都會被保護起來。醫用美白藥劑配方中也含有保護牙齒的成分,可以安全的在單次療程中就達到顯著的色階美白效果。

市售DIY居家牙齒美白產品

市售DIY居家牙齒美白產品近年來熱銷的主要原因是因為方便又便宜。這些產品包括了美白貼片、美白牙托、美白牙膏、美白口香糖和甚至可食用的美白錠。這些產品一般而言對健康不至於會有太大的影響,但若您對自己的口腔狀況有任何疑慮,還是請先徵詢牙醫師的醫療評估和建議。雖然牙齒美白產品琳瑯滿目,但在診所美白牙齒還是最有效安全的選擇。由於美白藥劑屬衛福部管制藥品,基於安全因素,市售DIY美白產品的藥劑濃度低效果有限。市售美白牙托一般是標準尺寸,往往和使用者的齒列不合導致藥劑滲出造成牙齦不適,美白效果降低。其他產品例如美白牙膏和凝膠等最多只能清除牙齒表面污垢但無法改變牙齒顏色。一般而言,市售DIY牙齒美白產品效果會很有限,無法實質改變牙齒的顏色。

牙齒美白安全嗎?會不會變敏感?

經過20年來所累積的研究顯示,在診所內由牙醫師進行的牙齒美白療程是相對安全的,對牙齒不會造成任何傷害。美白有可能帶來暫時性的敏感,通常一到兩天就會消退。若您在牙齒美白過程中有任何敏感不適的狀況產生,牙醫師能即時掌握並處理任何狀況。

牙齒美白效果能持續多久?

通常診所牙齒美白的效果能持續6到12個月,實際情況依各人日常飲食和潔牙習慣而定。避免紅酒,茶咖啡,抽煙等習慣能有效保持美白效果。

坊間非醫療牙齒美白

依衛福部和醫療法規定,施作牙齒美白屬醫療行為。衛福部提醒民眾,於非醫療機構內(例如美甲、美容店等)由非具牙醫師資格者施作牙齒美白,除違反醫療法相關規定外,操作器械清潔不當,常會造成細菌感染之可能性,容易導致後續牙齦發炎、蛀牙及嚴重牙周疾病之風險。如未經過專業牙醫師評估診斷,貿然使用美白產品,輕者造成牙齒敏感不適,重者若藥劑經蛀牙、牙根或是其他破損處滲入牙髓,可能造成嚴重不可逆的傷害。衛福部再次呼籲民眾,切勿輕易相信與嘗試違法之醫療行為,如有牙齒美白需求之民眾,應尋求合格之牙醫師進行諮詢處理,確保自身健康。

牙齒美白推薦找誰做呢?

有美容牙科學程的牙醫學院並不多,因此牙醫師在畢業後必須再回到牙醫研究所獲得更多美容牙科和美學的相關知識和訓練。有些牙醫研究所有提供1~2年的臨床美容牙科進階學程。在選擇美容牙醫師時,推薦參考牙醫師是否有研究所等相關訓練經歷。

資訊來源:衛生福利部,美國牙醫學會,美國美容牙醫學會

Teeth Whitening, the Fastest and Healthiest Way to a Brighter Smile

A Conversation with Cosmetic Dentist Dr. Kelly Wang

Teeth whitening is the fastest and most economical way to enhance your smile.  Numerous studies have shown that smiling creates an immediate, subconscious, and visual impact on people you meet.  A brighter smile gives the impression of youth, vitality, health, happiness, and warmth.  According to AACD's survey over 1,000 adults, when asked what they would like to improve the most about their smile, >90% wished for a whiter and brighter teeth.  If you are not happy with your smile, teeth whitening may be a good first step.

Why isn't my Teeth White Enough?  Why is it Discolored?

Deciduous (baby/milk) teeth are typically whiter than adult teeth. This is partly why white teeth make people appear more youthful.  The causes of darkened teeth include genetics, antibiotics, and certain foods, and as we age, our adult teeth tend to become darker, yellower, or stained. But the most common factors of tooth discoloration (yellowing/browning) are external, mainly from smoking, foods with tannins, coffee, tea, dark vegetables and fruits, and alcohol.

Benefits of Teeth Whitening

Teeth whitening is one of the most common cosmetic dental treatments requested by patients. People with whiter, brighter smiles tend to smile more and feel better about their overall appearance. Dentists can help patients achieve a whiter smile that looks natural, enhancing their overall facial aesthetics. A simple, minimally invasive cosmetic procedure, teeth whitening can help patients look and feel more youthful. Ask your cosmetic dentist about teeth whitening options for a more confident and beautiful smile.

Types of Teeth Whitening

The two most common whitening options are in-office treatment and DIY over-the-counter products. Professional teeth whitening administered by dentists offer effective and much safer results. Medically sourced teeth whitening gels are designed to minimize side effects like tooth sensitivity and unnecessary chemical exposure that are often associated with over-the-counter whitening products. Your dentist will work with you to build a treatment plan that will effectively address your dental concerns and meet your cosmetic goals.

Professional In-Office Teeth Whitening

Professional teeth whitening in a dental office is the preferred whitening method because even though stronger agents are applied, the rest of the mouth, including the gums, is protected from these materials.  In-Office whitening systems feature a buffer in the gel that protects the tooth enamel from damage, are extremely effective, and can transform teeth in a single office visit.  Your teeth can brighten up multiple shades in about an hour.

Over-The-Counter Teeth Whitening Products

Over-the-counter teeth whitening products have become popular, mainly because they are relatively cheap and easy to use.  There are a number of OTC teeth whitening methods that can be purchased without your dentist’s supervision.  These include whitening strips, paint-on tooth gel, mouth trays with gel, whitening toothpaste, and even whitening chewing gum.  These are generally safe products, but if you have any oral concerns, it is best to ask your dentist if these products are safe to use.  While OTC teeth whitening products are available, dentist-supervised In-Office teeth whitening remains the safest and most effective method.  This is because OTC teeth whitening trays often do not fit the patient’s mouth properly.  Ill-fitting trays may cause the teeth whitening gel to leak, which can result in gum irritation and a less effective treatment.  Additionally, OTC whitening gels and toothpastes only clean surface stains and don’t actually change the color of the teeth.  With OTC whitening products, there may be some visible results, but the teeth are not actually being whitened.

Is Teeth Whitening Safe?  Will it Cause Sensitivity?

Published studies over the last 20 years have suggested that dentist supervised In-Office whitening procedures are relatively safe.  There is no permanent damage caused to the enamel or any other tooth structures by tooth whitening.  Sensitivity arising from tooth whitening is always transient.  That means if there is any sensitivity caused by whitening, it goes away within one to two days after the treatment, and the patient returns to the state of sensitivity he or she had prior to starting the whitening process.  Your dentist is best qualified to handle any issues that may arise from whitening treatments, such as tooth sensitivity.  Today, most tooth sensitivity cases can be easily managed.

How Long do they Last?

Typically, teeth whitening can last for several months to a year, depending on how well you take care of your teeth, and if you’re following up regularly with a home whitening product for regular maintenance.  Lifestyle habits remain the dictating factor in the longevity of a patient's whitening effects.  Avoiding red wine, coffee, and smoking — all of which can cause staining — helps preserve the results.  

Non-Dental Whitening Providers

In Taiwan, teeth whitening is a regulated medical procedure under the Medical Care Act and whitening agents are controlled substances designated by law.  Dental clinics and dentists provide teeth whitening procedures under the supervision of Taiwan's Ministry of Health and Welfare for medical safety and infection prevention.  While patients may find teeth whitening services offered at non-dental venues in Taiwan, they are illegally performed by non-medical providers and are not supervised by any authority for medical safety and infection prevention and have sourced their whitening agents through unknown and unregulated sources.  Teeth whitening provided by non-medical providers may cause complications and irreparable harm to your teeth and gums including decay, gingivitis, periodontitis, and even tooth loss.  Taiwan's MOFW strongly advise any patients seeking teeth whitening to consult a dentist for proper treatments.

Choosing a Cosmetic Dentist

Not many dental schools provide general education in cosmetic dentistry.  Therefore, it is essential that a dentist pursue post-graduate training in cosmetic dentistry to master the required skills and knowledge.  There are well-respected advanced cosmetic dentistry education programs that help dentists perfect skills through hospital-based residency and real-life case presentations.  When choosing a cosmetic dentist, it is advisable to look for training experiences gained from a reputable academic institution.

Information Source:  American Dental Association, American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry, TWMOHW