牙齦發炎流血、腫痛、萎縮、牙齒鬆動怎麼辦?

​和牙周病專科 林士峻醫師的對話

什麼是牙周病?

您知道嗎?根據美國CDC疾病管制局和台灣衛福部國民健康署統計,超過90%的台灣民眾和超過47%的美國民眾有不同程度的牙周病。牙周病是會破壞牙齦和齒槽骨的一種慢性發炎疾病。牙周病通常沒什麼明顯症狀,但若不及早治療會導致牙齒鬆動、缺牙、甚至糖尿病和心血管疾病。3~6個月定期檢查是預防牙周病最好的方式

牙周病有多嚴重?

牙周病若不及早治療會導致漸進性牙齒脫落、糖尿病和心血管疾病等其他慢性病後遺症的風險。研究顯示牙周病口腔內的細菌能透過呼吸道進入肺部產生肺炎等呼吸道疾病。未接受治療的牙周病患者比一般人罹患口腔癌的機率高出95%,腎癌的機率高出49%,胰臟癌的機率高出54%,白血病的機率高出30%。

牙周病是什麼原因造成的?

造成牙周病主要因素是潔牙習慣不當所造成牙菌斑累積所致。其他主要因素包括年紀、吸菸喝酒、系統性疾病、基因、壓力、藥物、緊咬磨牙習慣、飲食習慣、和體重過重等。糖尿病患者罹患牙周病的風險也較高。研究已證明,牙周病是糖尿病的主要併發症之一。牙周病本生不具傳染性。

牙周病是症狀是什麼?

牙周病初期很難察覺,很多患者會以為是俗稱"火氣大",直到中後期才會開始出現疼痛或腫起來等症狀。但您如果有觀察到以下症狀,請儘快尋求牙醫師或牙周病專科醫師的診治:牙齦腫脹疼痛,牙齦發炎,刷牙或用牙線時有流血,進食的時候牙齦流血,牙齦萎縮讓牙齒看起來變長,牙齒鬆動,膿包,或持續性的口臭等症狀。

牙周病的治療費用多少?

每位患者的牙周病情狀況不同,所需的治療程度以及相關費用也會有所不同。建議民眾可先和牙周病專科醫師做初診諮詢,讓牙醫師檢查牙周狀況及病情,才能更進一步評估需要的治療程度和費用。患者們也會有較充足的專業資訊來決定是否要進行治療。

牙周病治療推薦找專科醫師評估

牙周病專科醫師是專門在預防、診斷、及治療牙周病的醫師。牙周病專科醫師也擅於牙科手術以及植牙手術等治療。牙周病專科醫師從牙醫學院畢業後需再投入三年以上時間接受各種牙周病難症相關的治療及手術訓練。牙周病專科醫師最擅長的治療項目包括:牙齦發炎消炎、牙周病治療、牙齦萎縮補救,牙周再生手術、牙根覆蓋術、牙周軟組織美容手術、黏膜牙齦手術、牙冠增長術、齒槽骨再生術、鼻竇增高術、和人工植牙等。

資訊來源:衛生福利部,臺灣牙周病醫學會,美國牙周病學會,美國疾病管制與預防中心,Dear Doctor Dentistry & Oral Health

Bleeding gums and Loose Teeth

A Conversation with Periodontist Dr. James S.C. Lin

What is Periodontal (gum) Disease? 

Over 90% of Taiwanese population and over 47% of US population have periodontal disease, according to US CDC and TW MOHW.  Periodontal disease is a chronic inflammatory disease, generally asymptomatic, that affects the gum and bone supporting the teeth.  If left untreated, periodontal disease can lead to tooth loss and other chronic diseases, such as diabetes and cardiovascular disease. 

How Serious are Periodontal (gum) Disease?

Untreated periodontal (gum) disease will lead to progressive tooth loss.  In addition, gum disease can increase the risk for cardiovascular disease.  Research has shown that bacteria that grow in the oral cavity can be aspirated into the lungs to cause respiratory diseases such as pneumonia, especially in people with periodontal disease.  According to studies, patients with untreated gum disease were 49% more likely to develop kidney cancer, 54% more likely to develop pancreatic cancer, and 30% more likely to develop blood cancers.

What Causes Periodontal (gum) Disease?

The main cause of periodontal (gum) disease is plaque.  Other leading factors that increases your risk for gum diseases include aging, tobacco use, systemic diseases, genetics, stress, medications, clenching or grinding your teeth, poor diet and obesity.  Patients with diabetes are also more likely to have periodontal problems.  In fact, gum disease is often considered one of the major complications of diabetes

What are the Symptoms of Periodontal (gum) Disease?

Periodontal disease is often silent.  Symptoms, such as pain, may not appear until an advanced stage of the disease.  However, if you observe or experience any of the following symptoms, be sure to contact your dentist or periodontist right away: swollen or tender gums, oral inflammation, bleeding while brushing, flossing, or when eating certain foods, receding gums that are causing the teeth to look longer than before, loose teeth, pus, sores in your mouth, and persistent bad breath.

What is a Periodontist?

Periodontists are dentists with specialty in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of periodontal disease, and in the placement, maintenance, and repair of dental implants.  Periodontists receive three additional years of extensive training beyond dental school in treating periodontal disease and performing periodontal surgeries.  They can treat patients with severe gum problems using a range of procedures that correct gum recession and cover up exposed root surfaces which can be unsightly as well as sensitive to hot and cold.

Information Source:  American Academy of Periodontology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Dear Doctor Dentistry & Oral Health