冷光牙齒美白?陶瓷牙齒貼片?美容牙科醫師

​和美容牙科 王雅瑩醫師的對話

美容牙科的目的注重在提升您牙齒和笑容的美觀。談到美容牙科,大家都會聯想到冷光牙齒美白或瓷牙美白貼片,但美容牙科醫師能帶給您的遠多於此。有經驗的美容牙科醫師能改善您的外貌,笑容,和自信心。

笑容越多,心情更好,活得更久

美容牙科的重要性不只有美觀還包括了健康和生活品質。根據哈佛醫學院和史丹佛醫學院等研究機構執行的眾多研究顯示,笑得越多壽命越長、免疫系統越好、累積壓力減少、而且有助心血管健康。

牙齒和笑容會如何影響您的形象呢?

根據AACD美國美容牙醫學會對超過1,000多位成年人做的研究顯示,微笑是最能影響第一印象的因素。96%的受訪者相信美觀的笑容會讓人更受歡迎,74%的受訪者覺得不美觀的笑容會影響職涯發展和社交生活。笑容美觀與否的兩大因素為牙齒整齊度(凌亂/缺牙)和牙齒顏色(黃變/染色)。潔白的牙齒會使人看起來更年輕健康,更具魅力。牙齒潔白也有助於提升個人專業形象。做過牙齒美白和牙齒矯正療程的患者多數表示,治療後有助於提升個人魅力、形象、和自信心。

怎樣才是完美的笑容?

相信我們都看過許多美麗的笑容,但沒有所謂的完美笑容,因為每個人的審美觀不同。甚至您和您的美容牙科醫師對於審美的觀念也有可能會有不同的意見。​大部分的民眾在觀察牙齒美觀度時,通常會執著於某個細節,但美容牙科醫師會評估整體的美觀與和諧,其中包含了嘴唇、牙齦、咬合、臉部比例、個性、和膚色等等。醫師會分析笑容和牙齒長度、微笑時牙齒和其他臉部特徵的對齊度、嘴唇和牙齦的距離等等。醫師固然要聆聽理解患者的需求,但同樣的患者也需仔細聆聽醫師的專業意見以理解所需療程和目的。笑容的美觀就是靠這些一點一滴的細節所構成。多了解自己喜歡的細節並充分和醫師溝通是非常重要的

美容牙科醫師能為我做些什麼?

美容牙科醫師通常處理的問題包括牙齒長歪、牙齒損壞、牙齒染色變黃、以及牙縫過大等等。目前美容牙科領域已發展到可以同時兼顧牙齒的美觀及健康機能。常見的治療包括冷光牙齒美白、牙體復形、陶瓷牙齒貼片等等。涉及牙齒不整齊的部份,美容牙科醫師會和齒列矯正專科醫師共同診治。

坊間非醫療美齒貼片服務

依衛福部和醫療法規定,施作牙齒貼片屬醫療行為。衛福部提醒民眾,於非醫療機構內(例如美甲、美容店等)由非具牙醫師資格者施作貼片,除違反醫療法相關規定外,操作器械清潔不當常會造成細菌感染之可能性,容易導致後續牙齦發炎、蛀牙及嚴重牙周疾病之風險。施作陶瓷貼片及樹脂貼片時,多少需磨除牙齒表面的齒質或塗抹酸蝕劑來改變牙齒組織,以利瓷片黏合在牙齒上,因此必須要有專業牙醫師親自評估及執行。衛福部再次呼籲民眾,切勿輕易相信與嘗試違法之醫療行為,如有需求之民眾,應尋求合格之牙醫師及牙醫診所進行諮詢處理,確保自身健康。

為什麼推薦美容牙科醫師呢?

有美容牙科學程的牙醫學院並不多,因此牙醫師在畢業後必須再回到牙醫研究所獲得更多美容牙科和美學的相關知識和訓練。有些牙醫研究所有提供1~2年的臨床美容牙科進階學程。在選擇美容牙醫師時,推薦諮詢贗復假牙專科或有在研究所接受美容牙科訓練經歷的牙醫師。

資訊來源:衛生福利部,美國牙醫學會,美國美容牙醫學會,紐約大學牙醫學院,Jonathan B. Levine & Associates

Teeth Whitening?  Veneers?  Let's Talk Cosmetic Dentistry

A Conversation with Cosmetic Dentist Dr. Kelly Wang

Cosmetic dentistry is aimed at creating a positive enhancement to your teeth and your smile. Although teeth whitening or veneers comes to mind when we think of cosmetic dentistry, but a cosmetic dentist can provide much more. A skilled, experienced cosmetic dentist can help to improve your appearance, your smile, your self-esteem and confidence.

Smile More, Live Better, Live Longer

Benefits of cosmetic dentistry is as much about health as it is aesthetics. Numerous studies conducted by reputable institutions such as Harvard Medical School and Stanford University School of Medicine have found increased smiling and laughter leads to longer life span, improved immune system, reduced stress levels, and help protects the heart.

How Does Your Teeth and Smile Affect Your Image?

Studies by American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry surveying over 1,000 adults have shown that an attractive smile is the leading factor in first impressions. 96% of the respondents believe an attractive smile makes a person more appealing and 74% feel an unattractive smile can hurt career chances and social life. The two dominant factors affecting a smile’s attractiveness are Straightness (crooked/missing) and Color (yellow/staining) of the teeth. Whiter teeth is associated with youth, health, and attractiveness. People with whiter teeth are also considered to be more professional. Patients who received whitening and/or orthodontic treatment have reported improved sense of attractiveness & self-esteem.

How can I get a Perfect Smile?

While we all feel we know a beautiful smile when we see one, there is no perfect smile. That’s because each person has a different perception of what is beautiful — you and your cosmetic dentist may even have a difference of opinion.
 
While non-dentists typically focus on a single element, cosmetic dentists look at the entire complex — the lips, gums, teeth, bite, face, personality type, hair and skin color, and more. They examine the smile and analyze the length of the teeth, how the teeth line up with other facial features, gum-to-lip distance, and other characteristics. While it’s important for dentists to listen to their patients to understand what is desired, it’s equally crucial for patients to listen carefully to their dentists to understand what procedures are being suggested and what they entail. It is this attention to dental details that can create an appealing smile — and great results. 

So it is important that you discover what you really like and then discuss that with your dentist
.  

What can Cosmetic Dentists do for me?

Common concerns that cosmetic dentists address are: crooked teeth, damaged teeth, discolored teeth, and gaps between teeth. Today, cosmetic dentistry has evolved that cosmetic dentists can address both functional and aesthetic concerns with treatments that include tooth whitening, tooth bonding, tooth-colored restorations and fillings, porcelain veneers and more. Where alignment is concerned, a cosmetic dentist will often work in conjunction with an orthodontist

Choosing a Cosmetic Dentist

Not many dental schools provide general education in cosmetic dentistry. Therefore, it is essential that a dentist pursue post-graduate training in cosmetic dentistry to master the required skills and knowledge. There are well-respected advanced cosmetic dentistry education programs that help dentists perfect skills through hospital-based residency and real-life case presentations. When choosing a cosmetic dentist, it is advisable to look for training experiences gained from a reputable academic institution.

Information Source:  New York University College of Dentistry, American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry, American Dental Association, TWMOHW, Jonathan B. Levine & Associates