缺牙怎麼辦?該不該植牙?

​和植牙專科 王雅瑩醫師的對話

若您有缺牙,植牙是各種治療選擇中最接近自然牙齒的治療方式。成功的植牙能讓您擺脫缺牙的困擾,讓您能像使用健康的自然牙一樣可以無憂無慮的享受美食,開懷大笑。植牙在您進食、對話、大笑時不會有鬆脫或脫落的風險。植牙也能避免上下顎的萎縮,幫助維持顎骨的健康,確保臉部結構的完整性。現代植體知識和技術已歷經50年成功的臨床研究。在治療缺牙問題時,植牙是最耐用持久的選擇,後遺症也最低。現代植體已能做到感覺上和外觀上和自然牙無太大差異。建議選擇有受過牙醫研究所多年訓練的植牙醫師來進行植牙手術能有效提高植牙的成功率。

植牙的優點是什麼?

外觀和感覺像自然牙:植牙在使用上和外觀上彷彿自然牙。保養上只要依照日常生活中一般潔牙習慣,定時刷牙用牙線即可,不必像假牙需要拆下清洗。植牙也能維持您原本自然的臉型和笑容。
耐用耐久:若能正確照顧,植牙能維持幾十年以上。其他治療選擇(如牙橋或活動假牙等)則可能需每5到10年定期更換。
提昇自信心:植牙不會有鬆脫或脫落的煩惱。您可以自然無慮的說話、進食、和大笑。
保護臉部骨質和牙齒健康:缺牙不處理最直接的後遺症就是上下顎骨頭的萎縮。植體是唯一能有效刺激齒槽骨增生以避免顎骨萎縮的治療。一旦缺牙建議儘速尋求植牙治療以減少骨質流失。

植牙價格和費用多少?

每位缺牙患者所需的植牙治療都不一樣,因此費用也會因治療需求不同而有差異。在不知道每位患者的缺牙情況和治療需求下,醫師其實非常難第一時間的預估治療費用。植牙的治療計劃和流程需要經過全方位的診斷分析,包括患者病史、斷層掃描、骨頭條件、缺牙位置及範圍、缺牙處周圍的組織結構等等,才能完整的評估治療所需的費用。不同品牌的植體也會有價格上的區分,比如植體材質使用的鈦金屬、植體表面的處理、消毒的過程、零件的精密度,都有差別。長木牙醫只使用世界上臨床驗證最悠久的植體品牌。推薦缺牙的患者可先和牙醫師做初診諮詢,讓醫師檢查缺牙狀況及口腔條件,才能更進一步評估治療的需求和費用。患者們也會有較充足的專業資訊來決定是否要進行治療。

植牙時間要多久?

每位患者需要的治療時間及回診次數都不一樣。在和醫師做過初診評估後,醫師會為您擬訂治療計劃和預估治療時間。治療時間長短依每位患者的需求、病史、顎骨條件、和所需的流程而定。單純的治療可幾個月內完成,較複雜困難的治療則有可能會需要一年以上的時間。

植牙安全嗎?會不會很痛?

植牙技術已發展了半個世紀,現代植牙治療技術已非常成熟。但就像任何醫療過程,植牙也不是完全沒有風險的。選擇受過嚴謹訓練的植牙醫師能將風險降到最低,提高植牙成功率,避免後遺症。治療期間如有出現任何狀況,也能最有效的處置。為了提升治療成功率,植牙醫師需清楚知道任何可能影響治療的因素,比如您的病史及生活習慣(例如吸菸喝酒),所以請務必和您的植牙醫師仔細討論您的健康狀況。以現代的麻醉技術加上術後照護,大部分患者在術後都反應良好,短時間內即可恢復正常生活。

 

如果缺牙不理會怎麼樣?

一旦牙齒被拔除造成缺牙,周遭的牙齒會開始朝空缺處傾斜。缺牙處的對顎牙齒也會開始往空缺移位。開始傾斜或移位的牙齒會較容易蛀牙或產生牙周病,甚至導致更多缺牙。缺牙後周圍的齒槽骨也會跟著開始萎縮,大範圍的缺牙有可能會造成臉皮下垂,讓臉部看起來比實際年齡衰老。缺牙加上齒槽骨萎縮會造成臉皮內部的支撐結構逐漸喪失,使臉部皺紋增加、臉頰凹陷下垂。如果缺牙不儘早處理,其後遺症會逐漸影響日常生活品質,不僅咀嚼功能受到影響,外表、自信心、以及身心健康也會受到負面的影響。

植牙推薦找誰呢?

衛福部雖仍未明定植牙醫學為專科,但美國的牙醫學院研究所已把植牙醫學發展成需投入兩到三年的專門學科。植牙手術計畫和流程需要精密的考量和執行才能將失敗率和併發症風險降到最低。若要尋求植牙治療,美國牙醫學會ADA推薦民眾可尋找牙周病專科,口腔外科專科,或有多年植牙專科學歷的牙醫師。

資訊來源:衛生福利部,台北市牙醫師公會,ITI 國際植牙學會台灣分會,哈佛大學牙醫學院,美國牙醫學會,美國植牙學會

Missing Teeth?  Should I get Dental Implants?

A Conversation with Implant Specialist Dr. Kelly Wang

If you suffer from missing teeth, dental implants look and feel the most natural compared to other modes of treatment for replacing missing teeth.  Dental implants allow you to use your teeth most comfortably – confidently eating, smiling, laughing, talking, kissing and enjoying all of your everyday activities without worrying about your teeth.  Unlike other tooth replacement options, dental implants don’t slip or click when you talk, laugh or eat.  They also help to keep your jawbone healthy, so that your facial structure stays intact.  Modern dental implants have been used successfully for over 50 years.  They are the strongest devices available to support replacement teeth and they allow these new teeth to feel, look and function naturally.  When performed by a specialty trained and experienced implant dentist, dental implant surgery can be one of the safest and most predictable procedures in dentistry.

What are the Benefits of Dental Implants?

They resemble natural teeth the most:  Dental implants feel, look, fit and function like healthy, natural teeth.  You brush and floss them just like you do your natural teeth – there is no need to remove them for cleaning.  They also help you retain your natural face shape and smile. 
They are built to last: Dental implants that are properly cared for can last many decades.  Many other options, including certain types of dental bridges and dentures, may need to be replaced as often as every 5 to 10 years, requiring a more significant investment of time and money.
You can comfortably live your daily life: Your dental implants will be secure, so they won't slip or click when you talk, eat or laugh. You'll also find that your speech is more natural.

Protection for facial bone and healthy teeth: Leaving empty spaces in your mouth after losing one or more teeth can lead to health issues such as jawbone deterioration.  Dental implants are the only tooth replacement option that actually helps stimulate bone growth and prevent bone loss.  Getting dental implants as soon as possible after losing a tooth helps prevent bone loss at the site.  Also, dental implants don't require grinding down adjacent teeth to anchor bridges or attach partial dentures.

How Much do Dental Implants Cost?

No two patients or their customized dental implants treatments are exactly alike, so the cost – including the number of appointments required and procedures performed – will vary depending on your particular needs. We can understand that it will be helpful for patients to know the treatment costs first, but without knowing the patient's conditions and needs, it is very difficult for doctors to estimate treatment costs. Different brands of dental implants also differ in cost, factors affecting the cost include the type of titanium metal used in the implant, the surface treatment of the implant, sterilization process, precision of the implant components, just to name a few.  Treatment planning of dental implants requires a comprehensive diagnosis and analysis of the patient’s medical history, radiographic imaging, quality of the bone, location and span of the missing teeth area, and surrounding anatomy etc. Dental implant surgeries are complex medical procedures, and the best outcome for patients are successful treatments that can stand the test of time, so please do not place convenience over cautiousness, as this increases the risk of long-term complications. We recommend consulting an implant specialist who can conduct a comprehensive examination and perform the necessary diagnostics to best determine your needs and the associated costs. That way, you will be better informed before deciding whether dental implant treatments are for you.

How long does it take to replace teeth using dental implants?

Each patient is unique.  After an initial consultation, your implant specialist will provide you with a treatment plan and the estimated time frame required.  Total treatment time depends on your needs, medical and dental history, jawbone condition, and the technique and materials used.  It can be as short as a few months, or more than a year for more complex conditions.   

Are dental implants safe? Does it hurt to get dental implants?

Implant dentistry, which have been practiced for half a century, are safe and effective.  As in any medical procedure, however, there can be complications.  Choosing a well-trained implant specialist dentist will help minimize complication risk and ensure skillful handling of any problems, should they arise.  It is important that you and your implant dentist review your health history and any habits such as smoking, which could affect the success of your recommended care, so that you are fully informed about the benefits and risks involved.  With proper anesthesia during treatment and helpful instructions for home care, many people report that they feel better than anticipated.  Often, they return to work and daily activities the next day.  

What if I don't do anything about my Missing Teeth?

When you lose a tooth, nearby teeth will begin drifting into the empty space.  The teeth in the opposite jaw will also begin to shift up or down toward the space.  Teeth that have drifted will be prone to decay and gum disease.  When a tooth is missing, the surrounding jawbone that supports the lips and cheeks will begin to shrink and will cause the face to sag and will make you look older prematurely.  The combination of missing teeth and reduced jaw bone will make your face look wrinkly, and your cheeks will appear hollow and saggy, since they can no longer support your lips and cheeks from the inside.
This can negatively influence your daily life because even though it may be inside your mouth and not visible from the outside, over time it will start to affect your appearance, self-esteem, your oral health and even your health in general
.

Where do I Start?  Who should I Seek for my Dental Implant?

Dental implants are sophisticated dental devices that must be placed carefully to minimize complications or implant failure.  For the best results, it is important that you choose a dental implant specialist who has received many years of proper education and extensive training in implant dentistry in a hospital-based residency.  American Dental Association recommends seeking periodontists, oral surgeons, or implant specialists who have received several years of graduate training from accredited implant programs.

Information Source:  Harvard School of Dental Medicine, ITI International Team for Implantology, American Academy of Implant Dentistry, American Dental Association