矯正的重要性

​和齒顎矯正專科 陳盈安醫師的對話

您知道嗎?動人悅目的笑容背後通常都是成功的矯正療程。齒顎矯正是非常精密複雜的醫療過程,目的在將顎骨、牙齒、和周圍的軟組織調整到合適的位置。正確的咬合會增進咀嚼和說話功能,並減少蛀牙和牙周病的機率。您的笑容和臉型在矯正後將看起來更協調悅目。

矯正的目的是什麼?

矯正是一種預防性治療,目的在塑造健康和功能性健全的咬合,以利咀嚼和說話能力。整齊的齒列也將有效降低蛀牙和牙周病的風險。治療後美觀的笑容也將會帶來心理上的助益、以及自信心和自尊心上的提升。矯正治療能同時提升您的口腔和身心健康。

牙齒為什麼會亂?為什麼會需要矯正呢?問題怎麼來的?

齒列不整、牙齒長歪等矯正相關問題一部分是天生的,一部分是後天造成的,例如習慣性吸手指、用嘴巴呼吸、異常吞嚥、口腔病變、太早或太晚換乳牙,或營養不良。有時先天狀況和後天問題也會同時並存。無論如何,矯正專科醫師一般都有能力治療大多數的問題。

矯正最早幾歲就可以開始?

美國齒顎矯正學會建議兒童最晚在7歲以前開始接受矯正檢查,評估齒顎發育的狀況。提早開始做定期矯正檢查能讓矯正專科醫師儘早發現,儘早利用發育的黃金期治療,預防狀況日後惡化。即使您的孩子已超過7歲,醫師仍然建議儘早接受矯正檢查。依據衛福部調查,台灣超過50%的兒童及青少年有齒顎矯正的需求。咬合不正除因清潔不易造成齲齒(蛀牙)、牙周病外,還會影響咀嚼導致腸胃受損及臉型不對稱、歪臉等,也會導致發音不正確,有些人甚至引發自卑心理,造成人際關係低落等社交問題。

我需要矯正牙齒嗎?

每個人的情況都不一樣。一般而言,若您有下列症狀就很可能會需要接受矯正治療:齒列不整、歪齒、牙齒擁擠、牙縫過大、暴牙、厚道、或咬合不正。若您對自己的牙齒有顧慮,推薦您尋求齒顎矯正專科醫師的診斷評估。

矯正治療的時間需要多久?

矯正治療並非快速療程,民眾切勿求快。矯正後的牙齒在適當保養下能維持一輩子。每位患者的狀況和需求不同,矯正療程主要分為傳統矯正和透明矯正兩種,完整的矯正治療平均需6~36個月不等,每位患者的治療配合度也會影響療程速度。治療開始前,矯正專科醫師會先檢查您的口腔、齒列、和顎骨狀況和收集治療所需資料例如X光,照相,牙模和口內數位掃描。醫師會根據這些資料擬定適合您的新齒位和治療計劃。矯正專科醫師能幫助您塑造更健全的咬合、咀嚼和溝通功能以及更美觀的笑容,以提升您的自信心和長期生活品質。為能伴隨您一輩子的健康又美觀的笑容而努力是值得的。

矯正有沒有年齡限制?我會不會年紀太大?

絕對不會,齒顎矯正是不分年齡的。任何年紀只要牙齒牙齦健康,骨頭條件適合,都能享受到矯正治療所帶來健康和美觀上的益處。

矯正的價格和費用多少?

每位患者的齒列狀況和矯正需求不同,所需的矯正程度以及相關治療費用也會有所不同。建議民眾可先和齒顎矯正專科醫師做初診諮詢,讓牙醫師檢查牙齒狀況,才能更進一步評估需要的矯正治療程度和費用。患者們也會有較充足的專業資訊來決定是否要進行治療。

自我矯正?網購隱形牙套?

近年來國內外流行起網路B2C隱形牙套讓民眾自我矯正。網路廠商標榜簡單快速的療程,只要手機自拍或許再加上自己印模或到店裡讓店員掃描牙齒,接著就會郵寄隱形牙托到家裏。這些牙托只要自己在家配戴數月後便完成矯正,實在太完美了。但事實真的如此嗎?在您決定要進行網路遠端矯正前,美國齒顎矯正學會AAO再三告誡民眾,齒顎矯正是醫療行為,未經牙醫師親自當面診斷治療的矯正行為會讓民眾產生不必要的健康風險。若在沒有專科牙醫師的治療監督下進行,可導致不可逆和昂貴的嚴重傷害包括掉牙、牙齦萎縮、齒槽骨破壞、神經壞死、顳顎關節障礙症等複雜性併發症。您的健康應由醫師把關,而非賣您商品的公司。

推薦尋求齒顎矯正專科醫師評估

齒顎矯正專科醫師是專門診斷、預防、和治療任何齒列咬合問題。 雖然牙醫學院都有提供矯正相關課程,但非常基礎。齒顎矯正專科醫師是從牙醫學院畢業後再投入數年到牙醫研究所學習如何安全適當的移動齒列和引導上下顎及顏面結構發育(顏顎矯正)。這些多年的額外專科訓練讓齒顎矯正專科醫師成為專門治療齒顎問題的專家。雖然多數牙醫師和兒童牙科專科醫師也都有提供矯正治療,齒顎矯正專科醫師所接受的訓練是專門在治療任何矯正相關問題和帶給您健康美觀的笑容。

資訊來源:WHO世界衛生組織,衛生福利部,中華民國齒顎矯正學會,美國齒顎矯正學會,哈佛大學牙醫學院,賓州大學牙醫學院

Importance of Orthodontics

 

A Conversation with Orthodontist Dr. Rebecca Chen

Did you know?  Beautiful smiles are often results of successful orthodontic treatments.  Orthodontic treatment is a sophisticated biological process involving adjustments in jaw and facial bones and soft tissues as teeth are moved into new positions.  A proper bite will make it easier to bite, chew and speak.  Your smile and face will also appear more proportionate and appealing as a result.  

What is the Purpose of Orthodontic Treatment?

Orthodontic treatment is a preventative procedure meant to create a healthy, functional “bite” where chewing and speaking is improved.  This is because straight teeth are less prone to decay, gum disease and injury.  An attractive smile is a pleasant side effect of orthodontic treatment, and can have emotional benefits including improved self-confidence and self-esteem as teeth, lips and face are brought into proportion.  This promotes oral health and general physical health.  Orthodontic treatment plays a larger role in healthcare than is generally realized.

Where did my Orthodontic problems come from?

Although most orthodontic problems are inherited, some are “acquired,” developing over time by finger sucking, mouth breathing, dental diseases, abnormal swallowing, poor dental hygiene, or early or late loss of baby teeth, accidents and poor nutrition.  Sometimes an inherited orthodontic problem is complicated by an acquired problem.  Whatever the cause, orthodontists are usually able to treat most conditions successfully.

When Should Children First Visit the Orthodontist?

The American Association of Orthodontists recommends that children get an orthodontic check-up no later than age 7. Getting early check ups allows the orthodontist to spot certain problems that are best treated earlier than usual. This can prevent more serious problems from developing, and may allow orthodontists to utilize growth to achieve a better result. Even if your child is older than 7, it’s still important to have an orthodontic check-up as soon as possible since children continue to grow into their teens and most orthodontic problems can still be successfully treated at any age.

Do I Need Orthodontic Treatment?

Everyone is unique and so are their oral conditions.  Generally speaking, you may need orthodontic treatments if you have symptoms such as crooked or crowded teeth, too much space between teeth, an overbite or underbite, or misaligned bite.  If you are concerned with your bite, please make an appointment with an orthodontist for a consultation and evaluation.

How long do Orthodontic treatments take?

Orthodontic treatment is not a quick fix. With good care, treated teeth can last a lifetime. The duration of comprehensive orthodontic treatment can vary between 6 and 36 months depending on the problem’s severity and the patient’s compliance. The process starts with thorough examinations of the teeth and mouth, and study of dental records such as x-rays, photos and models of the teeth.  From this detailed information your orthodontist develops a bespoke treatment plan.  Working together with your orthodontist, orthodontic treatment can yield life-enhancing results: better function (biting, chewing, speaking), improved appearance and increased self-esteem.  It’s worth the effort to reach the goal you and your orthodontist share: giving you a healthy, beautiful smile that will last a lifetime.

Am I Too Old for Braces?

Absolutely not! Healthy teeth, bones, and gums respond well to orthodontic treatment regardless of age. Most orthodontic problems can be treated during adulthood and esthetic treatment options have made orthodontic treatment more appealing to the adult group.

Can I do it myself?  Direct-to-Customer Aligners and DIY Orthodontics

Online orthodontic companies make their treatment sound very easy.  Take a selfie and maybe an impression of your teeth or get your teeth scanned.  Next, you receive aligners in the mail and after a few months – straight teeth!  Right?  What else is there to think about?  Before proceeding with a direct-to-consumer orthodontic company, the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) warns of a number of risk factors to consider.  For example, many direct-to-consumer orthodontic companies do not involve in-person evaluation and supervision of your treatment by an orthodontist.  An in-person evaluation and supervision with an orthodontist throughout your treatment is imperative.  Orthodontic treatment involves the movement of biological material, which if not done properly under the supervision of an orthodontist may lead to irreversible and expensive damages such as tooth and gum loss, bone loss, nerve damage, jaw joint dysfunction (TMJ), and other complications.  Consider this question: What other transforming medical treatment would you undergo without an in-person, evaluation and supervision from a medical professional?  Your doctor should be your gatekeeper in improving and safeguarding your oral health not a business that sells you products. 

Who is an Orthodontist?

Orthodontist is a specialist in the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of orthodontic problems.  While there is some orthodontic instructions in dental school, it is minimal.  It is in the post-dental school orthodontic program that orthodontists receive many years of intense training in proper, safe tooth movement and the guidance of dental, jaw and facial development (dentofacial orthopedics).  These extra years of school make the orthodontist the specialist in moving teeth and aligning jaws and this is the only focus of their practice.  While general dentists and pediatric dentists offer orthodontic treatments, orthodontists are uniquely qualified, by virtue of extra years of education and scope of practice, as experts who have the skills and experience to give you a healthy and beautiful smile.

Information Source: American Association of Orthodontics, Harvard School of Dental Medicine, The University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine, World Health Organization